ATV/UTV Safety Laws
The Wisconsin State Legislature passed new laws in 2020 intended to keep this sport as safe as possible and reduce injuries and deaths. Please follow the rules!
ATV Passenger Rules: Passengers are not allowed in or on any part of an ATV that is not designed or intended to be used by passengers. (Previously this law applied only to use on roadways.) After market seating does not comply with the law.
New ATV/UTV Legal Definitions:
- Low-pressure tires are no longer required for ATVs or UTVs.
- ATVs are required to have 3 or more tires. They are required to be commercially designed and manufactured and their width cannot exceed 50 inches as measured laterally between the outermost wheel rims on each side of the vehicle.
- UTVs are required to have 4 or more tires.They are required to be originally manufactured with, and must maintain, a width of not more than 65 inches as measured laterally between the outermost wheel rims on each side of the vehicle.
Lighted Headlamp Display Requirements:
- ATVs and UTVs must have a lighted headlamp and tail lamp during operation regardless of time of day and location.
- No person (except emergency services persons) may operate an ATV or UTV equipped with the following:
– A lamp visible from directly in front of the vehicle that is any color other than white or amber.
– A lamp visible from directly behind the vehicle that is any color other than red, yellow, amber or white.
– A flashing, oscillating or rotating lamp that is any color other than yellow or amber.
- ATV and UTV operators must dim the high-beam headlamps and any auxiliary lamps when within 500 feet of an approaching ATV/UTV or other vehicle, and within 500 feet to the rear of another ATV/UTV or vehicle.
Operational Requirements and Modification Restrictions:
- ATVs and UTVs cannot be operated with anything other than tires, except on private property or frozen waters.
- ATV and UTV operators born on or after January 1, 1988 who are at least 12 years old for an ATV, and at least 16 years old for a UTV, must complete an ATV safety certification course to operate in Wisconsin, except on private property owned by the operator’s immediate family. DNR Conservation Wardens recommend all ATV and UTV operators complete a safety course.
NOTE: This is not a complete list of the laws. To learn more about ATV/UTV regulations at dnr.wi.gov.
Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass
All snowmobiles operating in Wisconsin are required to display a State Trail Pass in addition to their State Registration Sticker.
Annual passes for snowmobiles registered in Wisconsin are $30 through the DNR, or may be purchased for just $10 by anyone who belongs to a Wisconsin snowmobile club AND the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC).
Out-of-State Trail Passes are $50 dollars per year. JOIN A CLUB AND GET YOUR PASS FOR JUST $10!
Don’t Wait! Get Your Trail Pass Now! The fine for operating a snowmobile without the pass is $200.50. DNR and County Officials Will Be Enforcing the Law.