ATV/UTV Safety Laws
New state laws enacted by the Legislature in 2020 are intended to keep the sport as safe as possible and reduce injuries and deaths. Please follow the rules!
ATV Passengers: Passengers cannot ride in or on any part of an ATV that is not designed or intended to be used by passengers.(Previously, this law only applied to roadways.) After market seating does not comply with the law.
New ATV/UTV Legal Definitions:
- Low-pressure tires are no longer required on an ATV or UTV.
- ATVs must have 3 or more tires and are required to be commercially designed and manufactured. Their width cannot exceed 50 inches as measured laterally between the outermost wheel rims on each side of the vehicle.
- UTVs must have 4 or more tires. They must be originally manufactured with, and must maintain, a width of not more than 65 inches as measured laterally between the outermost wheel rims on each side of the vehicle.
Lighted Headlamp Display Requirements:
- ATVs and UTVs must have a lighted headlamp and tail lamp during operation regardless of time of day and location.
- No person (except emergency services personal) may operate an ATV or UTV that is equipped with any of the following:
– A light visible directly from the front that is any color other than white or amber.
– A light visible from directly behind that is any color other than red, yellow, amber or white.
– A flashing, oscillating or rotating light that is any color other than yellow or amber.
- ATV and UTV operators must dim the high-beam lights and any auxiliary lights when within 500 feet of an approaching ATV/UTV or vehicle, and within 500 feet of the rear of another ATV/UTV or vehicle.
Operational Requirements and Modification Restrictions:
- ATVs and UTVs cannot be operated with anything other than tires except for on private property or frozen waters.
- Operators born on or after January 1, 1988 who are at least 12 years old for an ATV, and at least 16 years old for a UTV, must complete an ATV safety certification course to operate in Wisconsin, except on private property owned by the operator’s immediate family. DNR Conservation Wardens recommend all ATV and UTV operators complete a safety course.
Note: This is not a complete list of laws. Learn more at dnr.wi.gov.
Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Pass
All snowmobiles operating in Wisconsin are required to display a State Trail Pass in addition to their State Registration Sticker.
Annual passes for snowmobiles registered in Wisconsin are $30 through the DNR, or may be purchased for just $10 by anyone who belongs to a Wisconsin snowmobile club AND the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC).
Out-of-State Trail Passes are $50 dollars per year. JOIN A CLUB AND GET YOUR PASS FOR JUST $10!
To order the discounted pass on-line or to learn about clubs in your area go to www.awsc.org. To learn about snowmobile clubs in Sawyer County check out the “Why Join?” page on this website.
Don’t Wait! Get Your Trail Pass Now! The fine for operating a snowmobile without the pass is $200.50. DNR and County Officials Will Be Enforcing the Law.